You’ve Changed: St. Patricks Edition

St. Patricks Day weekend was a very different world for me last year – it was my last weekend at the end of a two and a half month stint in Australia, and Tigger was Down Under visiting me for two and a half days of intense tourism and partying prior to us heading off to Asia.  That time frame also marked one of the most unhealthy and sedentary periods of my life.  While I was keen to live a healthy lifestyle when I landed in Oz and ticked the appropriate boxes by joining a gym and doing lots of grocery shopping, all of those plans went out the window when I spent more hours in the office than out of it, and spent most of my leisure time desperate to relax and order room service.  Gross.  I then proceeded to spend 11 days floating around Thailand, never more than 30 feet from my next large bottle of Change or Singha!  One of the best trips of my life, but it was more than time for a reboot when I got home.

Flash forward to St. Patrick’s weekend 2013.  I spent Friday evening and Saturday afternoon catching up with friends, and was in bed both evenings by 11 – sober.  I rose early on St. Patrick’s day and headed downtown to crush a personal best on a chilly 5k organized run.  I definitely imbibed in a few celebratory pints, but spent my evening recovering (from the run, not the pints) on the couch.

Despite the subdued nature of my weekend, I still managed to wear a bit of green and enjoy my own Luck of the Irish – my personal trainer arrived back from Visa Exile on St. Patricks Day! The Irish Sadist and I will be reunited this week – and I’m actually looking forward to the punishing workouts I’m sure he has planned.

A quick pictorial review of my weekend!

New Ritual: Far too much BBQ the day before a Race! Nom Nom Nom.

New Ritual: Far too much BBQ the day before a Race! Nom Nom Nom.

Tigger snapped this at the finish line.  Apparently I run with a serious Angry Face.

Tigger snapped this at the finish line. Apparently I run with a serious Angry Face.

Deceiving Sunny.  It was cold.  Pretty scenic spot for a race though!

Deceivingly Sunny. It was cold. Pretty scenic spot for a race though!

 

Trying to soak of St. Pat's sunshine through the window

Trying to soak of St. Pat’s sunshine through the window

 

Recovery Mode.  Prince William was massaging my hips :)

Recovery Mode. Prince William was massaging my hips 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Events in Review, Pictures Tell a Thousand Words

Leave a Reply

