Quick Change

As we prepare to gather as a family tomorrow to lay my grandmother to rest, on the eve of her 98th birthday – I realized something was off. My nails were chipped.

Trivial though it would seem, my Grandmother was known for her impeccably manicured nails (as is my Mother) and I thought it wouldn’t be fitting to show up in my current condition.

20120718-190918.jpg

My G-ma was actually know for her overall elegance, that clearly surpassed just the quality of her hand care. She was always beautifully put together and I would really love to have seen her in her youth. The idea of her in the roaring 20’s thrills me.

As I knew a more somber occasion was upon us, I decided to tone down my colour choice.

20120718-191504.jpg

Well…. Going from Neon down to just Bright and Sparkly really IS toning down in Nancy’s world.

Nain would be happy with my choice I’m sure 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Events in Review, Pictures Tell a Thousand Words

7 responses to “Quick Change

  1. Kat

    Sorry to hear about your grandmother. I love that you were able to pay a small tribute to her through your nail polish (GREAT colours!). If I were to do a tribute at my grandmother’s funeral, realistically it would probably involve buying an outfit from Giant Tiger. On sale.

  2. I want sassy photos of G-ma in the roaring 20s!

  3. I was so sorry to hear about your grandmother’s passing. Hope you are well. xo

    • Sorry – I really should have indicated that she actually passed away in December and we are just doing the internment now. She was a wonderful woman but it was time to let go, so we celebrated her life this week 🙂 I appreciate your thoughts though!

Leave a Reply

