The Importance of Survival Skills

Not ominous at all…

In an effort to behave myself and repent for my long weekend sins, I decided to have an incredibly low key Friday night and get up early this morning for some exercise. Everything went to plan last night, I made dinner, watched TV  and the only thing I left the house for was to collect Tigger from work.

I arose bright and early, whipped myself up some breakfast and headed out the door. I was happy to see that the sky was cloud covered – after my insanely humid run on Thursday, I was happy for a change in weather. I set off on my way and was in Ashbridges Bay Park (in the Toronto Beaches) in no time. I ran to the end of the lagoon, where Jessica and I had hung out a few times in our youth, and pressed on exploring the foot paths around the bay.

I stopped a few times along the way to take some photos of the beautiful scenery and the incredibly calm waters. Upon review of those photos, it seems apparent that I maybe should have been paying a bit more attention to the weather, but I was happily ensconced in my journey and carried on.

What’s that they say about the “Calm before the Storm?”

I had just set off down a little peninsula past the yacht club when I thought I felt a little rain, but it didn’t amount to much right away. About five minutes later, when I was completely isolated and as far from buildings as possible, it started coming out of the heavens.

I sought shelter quickly under a nearby tree and then quickly fled for a larger one that appeared to provide more shelter. I screamed outloud three times when the lightening and thunder came in such quick succession that they made frightening crashing noises – honestly the lightening sounded like it was right on top of me.

It was at this point, for the first time, that I considered my scenario – and then quickly got out my phone and asked the helpful world of Facebook:

“Can’t remember my survival skills – should I be hiding from this thunder storm under a tree?”

I didn’t end up getting a response until I was home – because it was 8am and everyone I know was in bed – but apparently I was not exercising smart survival skills AT ALL.

A quick internet search has now Informed me that I did several things wrong:

  • Trees are not suitable structures – in fact by hiding under isolated trees I was actually increasing my risk of injury
  • Watch the Skies – apparently a big part of this whole “survival” thing is awareness, ppffft taking photos of the geese was much more important
  • Stay under cover for 30 minutes after the last lightening strike – ya, anytime the rain slowed a bit I would break from my shelter and run off, as soon as the storm picked up again I would once again find the tallest isolated tree and stand as close as possible to the trunk

The skies during one of my tree-to-tree dashes

Regardless, Im home safe and sound and had a fabulous run (despite the choppiness of k’s 3-4) and this has been a great opportunity to review this information.

Mostly, I kind of just feel like I’m being punished for exercising on a Saturday!

10 Comments

Filed under Events in Review, Fitness Follies, Funny Ha-Ha, Pictures Tell a Thousand Words

10 responses to “The Importance of Survival Skills

  1. Jessica

    Yay! I’m glad you thought of me during your episode of survivor..if only Jeff Probst was there to help you

  2. I brought my phone with me on my early run on Friday AM. I was going to take a picture, but it was too hard.
    Then I remembered that movie YES MAN, where Zooey, whatever her last name is had a running photography club.
    We should do that some time!

  3. What a great story…adventurous run! 🙂 My guess is that you will forever remember the rules of the road in a thunderstorm now! Happy running!

  4. Kat

    So what are you supposed to do if not hide under a tree? Do you lie down on the ground away from a tree?

    • Hooray!! I’m not the only one that doesn’t know what to do!! But Ed apparently, lie down in a ditch or squat down somewhere would be better options than the trees I picked

Leave a Reply

