Review: The Fresh Diet

 

I’m a bit of an obsessive person, which may be considered an understatement to some.  So when the whole ‘group buying’ trend popped up a few years ago I dove in head first and started buying deals all over the city.  I was even interviewed by the Globe and Mail for being an early adopter.  Unfortunately I never ended up using all of my purchases as so many expired around the same time, you can only get manicure and waxes a limited number of times in a given week, you know? But I definitely scored some awesome deals, and am still a fan of the idea.

overindulged in Shopping, who me?

Anywho, I used to periodically sort through my outstanding deals and figure out what was coming up on expiry soon – and try to do something about it.  One such deal was expiring last summer, for the The Fresh Diet.  The deal was (I believe) $25 for a full day of food (3 meals and two snacks) delivered fresh to your front door.  Not being one to love the act of either Grocery shopping, or the prepping and time consuming effort of cooking things, this seemed right up my alley.  Not sure when I made the purchase, but I called sometime last June to try to figure out how to set up the day.  It turned out that since I was in an apartment without a 24hour concierge, the only other option would be to give a spare key to the company, which seemed excessive for a one night service.  The company was very understanding (this was right in the middle of my packing craze and I probably sounded a bit manic) and offered to put my order on hold until I was set up in my new house.

Cue 10 months later – late April.  As I was now home from Oz and caught up at work, I did a quick scan to see what deals I still had and remembered the ‘on hold’ status of my Fresh Diet.   A quick email later made my account active again, and I was able to select a date for my meals.  Being that I plan things months in advance, I decided on a Thursday about 4 weeks in the future.  The website is incredibly easy to navigate, and you even get to pick your meals and snacks from a generous list provided on a daily basis.  I made my choices, verified that my address was updated correctly and signed off.

Flash-forward to yesterday, as I’m scurrying out the door at the crack of 7am planning to walk to the office, I happen to notice a blue bag sitting on the porch. Ooooohhh… right! My Fresh Diet delivery!  Apparently they deliver between 7pm and 5am, so I really have no idea how long it was sitting there.  I brought the bag inside and unpacked it:

  • 3 meals and 2 snacks, packed in separate containers
  • A freezer pack to help keep the food fresh
  • A menu card that also listed reheating instructions

Now seeing as I had forgotten about the magical food delivery elf that was going to be visiting me overnight and already had both lunch and dinner plans for the day, I decided to split the meals up over two days.  I enjoyed the Omelet yesterday for breakfast and the Crab cake as a snack.  Both were delicious!  The portions are definitely small (its supposed to be healthy, so this makes sense), but not miniscule and they were easy to heat up and enjoy.  For today, I had the Chicken Cesar wrap for lunch, the Spanikopita as a snack and will be dining on the final meal for dinner shortly.

I have to admit, its a pretty slick service  – maybe not terribly environmentally friendly however, considering the individually packaged (and non-reusable) containers and the daily delivery by car to Fresh Dieters around the city.  While I only tried this service for one day, the choices available for a single day alone tell me that this meal plan would be both tasty and varied.  One mega downside is the cost – for a 31 day program of the same service I described above works out to almost $1400 (and I haven’t yet determined if that’s in CAD or USD.. but I’m thinking US) while a week will only set you back about $420.  They do provide a slightly cheaper service, where your meals are selected for you and you are allowed a minimum number of ‘dislikes’ that won’t be included, but that will still set you back over a grand for the 31 days.

While I don’t think this is something I will carry on with, due to the cost prohibitive nature alone, I can definitely see how it would be appealing to some people.  I’ll be keeping my eye on the group buying websites for more Fresh Diet deals in the future!

Happy May 2-4 to my Canadian friends, enjoy the best weather I think I’ve ever seen for this particular long weekend.  Too bad I’ll be missing out on it, I’ll be in Europe.  My life rules.

Leave a comment

Filed under Events in Review

Leave a Reply

