The Soundtrack To My Life

While watching the Beach Boy’s 50 year anniversary performance on the Grammy’s last night I was reminded that the very first musical purchase I ever made was of a Beach Boys tape, at the York Farmer’s market. Okay, I probably encouraged my parents to but me some Raffi or Anne Murray (remember Hippo In My Tub??) when I was a bit younger, but I really don’t count that. Thinking about my fledgling tape collection of my 6-8 year old self made me realize just how much my musical taste has changed and grown over the years.

How did I get from Beach Boys to Mos Def? Really the steps in between were not all that chronological.  Here is a quick summary of the various music that has defined the stages of my life so far.

Youngster Nancy: Pretty much collected my musical taste from my parents (not that there is anything wrong with that), I remember one of my high school friend’s parents telling me my parents were ‘Bee-boppers’ – whatever that means

  • Beach Boys
  • Roy Orbison
  • Neil Diamond

Early Teenage Nancy: Switching schools, making new friends and trying to discover my own style, also included the years that I attended my first concerts and fell in love with live music

  • Bush X (Well, the X was still there when I saw them in concert, my first concert EVER)
  • Silverchair
  • Smoother (serious fan girl)

Mid and Late Teenage Nancy: Shot up several inches in height and had a ballooning attitude to match – discovered Punk music and the first (And maybe only) “scene” I ever really identified with

  • Anti Flag
  • Strung Out
  • The Bouncing Souls (Possibly ended up going to Jilly’s strip club with members of this band several years later with Cherie…)

Newly Independent Nancy: When I first moved away from home, I still clung to my love of punk and didn’t let go for years, but a friend in Whistler introduced me to some (now embarrassing) hip hop and it completely opened my mind to different generes

  • Swollen Members (Only admitting this in the spirit of full disclosure, well and, I was a pretty obsessed)
  • Deltron 3030 (Thank god I decided to do so research into real hip hop)

Academic and Fresh Graduate Nancy: Almost a mirror image of my teenage self, wholly obsess with a single genre of music and completely invested in absorbing as much music and information as possible

  • Black Star
  • Hieroglyphics
  • De La Soul
  • The Pharcyde
  • A Tribe Called Quest
  • …this list could go on…

Present Day Nancy: I guess I’m still sorting myself out, but I’ve given up clutching to a sole music genre as a means of self identity. One look at my ‘Top 25 Most Played’ list on iTunes reveals an 80’s loving Hip Hop head with possible multiple personalities. I can probably blame a busy life on this, but I no longer have to know absolutely everything about a band/group/artist to just enjoy one track – intense tendencies much? who me?

  • People Under the Stairs (Easily my favourite duo in the realm of Hip Hop)
  • Hall & Oates (I maintain that I should have been much older in the 80s)
  • Random Smattering of Top 40s, Hip Hop, More 80s tracks and.. GASP… dance music

This review really makes me want to track down and post photos of myself from each of these segments of my life – my fashion and appearance has definitely transformed along with my taste in music. I feel like music has really defined my social life and personality through my formative years – and I think it always will, but dammit if I want to rock out to the new Lady Gaga track or mope around listening to some new Indie band I’m more likely to admit it 😉

Back to my original thought – How Awesome was it watching the Beach Boys back together? I even think Maroon 5 and Foster the People managed to do a little justice to their renditions. I wonder if I still have that tape collection.

Did I leave any Nancy’s out that you remember?

3 Comments

Filed under Events in Review, Funny Ha-Ha, Story Time

3 responses to “The Soundtrack To My Life

  1. Jessica

    Dear mid-late teen nancy,
    Thanks for introducing me to punk. I didnt really enjoy the music, and I never listened to it on my own time, but all those parties you took me to were so much fun! What was that one dance where you just run around in a circle? Love it! The lyrics of some of those songs were disturbing, but it was definitely an interesting experience.
    Obviously, I’ve paid you back by making you listen to all my fav boy bands!
    NKOTB rule!
    Jess

    • Dear Mid-Late Teen Jessica,

      Thank you for befriending the new girl who you discovered aimlessly walking the halls at lunch time. And apparently introducing her to ‘drawstring pants’ – though I still don’t know why that was one of the reson’s that Ginger dumped me 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the crazy parties I brought you! I’m pretty sure the circle-dancing was mostly to Die For Your Government. Ohh geez.

      You have certainly seen many incarnations of Nancy – as I have of Jessica 🙂 New Mom Jessica might be my favourite!

      Also, NKOTB. Yup, that was a pretty cool concert 🙂

Leave a Reply

