Type-A Travel

So you may have gathered by now that I travel a fair bit – and also that I’m quite probably one of the most neurotic people you’ll ever meet.  These two meet head on when it comes to packing for a trip, especially when I deem something to be ‘complicated travel.’  Case in point – my trip to Australia for work (I’m currently in the lounge at Pearson awaiting my flight!).

While the trip itself isn’t overtly complicated, it does contain various sorts of activity:

  • 3 weeks in the office
  • 1 week travelling with my Cousin
  • 3 weekends in the middle to do with what I please

In order to prepare for such a trip, and to calm my nerves, I tend to gravitate towards hyper-prepartion.  The pinnacle of this would be what I refer to as my ‘outfit spreadsheets’ – which is exactly as anal as it sounds, an excel spreadsheet listing each day of my trip, the type of day it is (ie. Work vs. Casual Weekend vs. Party Night) and then a planned outfit including Shoes and Accessories.  Finally, I create a Pack List at the bottom separated into categories such as Tops, Bottoms, Dresses.. you get the drift.  The preparation of my spreadsheet normally softens any unhinged feelings I have leading up to a big trip and also lets me think about clothing, one of my favourite things to do.

I had mostly completed my pre-packing prep work for this trip last week, and finally set to packing last night.  I had all my clothes, shoes, accessories, toiletries and superfluous stuff lined out on my bed and was ready to go.  Thankfully, Peggy was around to keep my nerves in check.  I decided that it made the most sense to separate my stuff between the two suitcases into Work and Casual (obviously) and the packing commenced.  Aside from a few twitchy moments, we managed to have the majority of my stuff securely stored into my suitcases in a fairly short amount of time.  This would be when Jillian showed up – who thankfully doesn’t judge me for this type of behaviour.

I had a nice visit with Jillian, watched an episode of Dexter, and then turned in for the evening.  I had most of the morning to complete my carryon packing, and have successfully made it through US Customs, Security and and am drinking a pint at the airport lounge.  I’m sure I looked quite the site scurrying through Pearson pushing one Rolling bag, pulling another and carrying two purses!  I even managed to nip into the Nexus office and update my Driver’s Licences and Address information – why not fit another thing into my day?!

Off I head Down Under, I’ll continue to report in from the Future until December.

7 Comments

Filed under Events in Review, Funny Ha-Ha

7 responses to “Type-A Travel

  1. Kat

    You’re like my soul sister! I had a spreadsheet for my packing for Australia too (except try, instead of packing for 3 weeks, packing for 1 year!). Hope you save room for some shopping. Pssst, those vacuum-seal bags that scrunch up small are genius for making space but you may go over weight.

  2. It is actually impressive!
    You actually showed some “flexibility” and “laissez fair” in opposition to your neurosis, when you said, “mom you don’t need to fold my underwear.”

    • HAHA.. I kinda forgot about that. I was really trying to get her to just not notice the sheer volume of underwear I was packing 🙂 Which she ended up noticing and belittling me about, as you well know!

      Funny thing, as I was visiting friends this weekend they suggested I bring any ‘wash’ I had. So I did a load of laundry that consisted of about two shirts, a pair of leggings and 10 pair of undies. I like clean underwear alright?? 🙂

  3. Lily June

    I also routinely make clothing spreadsheets for travel. It is nice to know that I am not alone 🙂

  4. Pingback: Type-A Travel Volume Two: Backpacking | nancyfrancis

Leave a Reply

