Blushing Bridesmaid

Despite being the perpetually single girl that I am – I LOVE weddings.  Probably my enjoyment of these events involves the combination of getting dressed up and then partying with superfluous amounts of beverages, two of my favourite things 🙂  Lucky for me, my ‘late twenties’ have involved many a friend getting married and getting to celebrate with them.  Although, I’ve never uttered the words ‘Always a Bridesmaid, Never a Bride’ because that would be false – a more accurate statement would be ‘Always a Wedding Guest, Never a Bridesmaid’.  Finally, however, Nancy is going to have her chance to stand with a close friend and be part of the wedding party shenanigans – well actually, I’m going to have three chances in the next year alone!

First up to bat is Toesocks, who is marrying her Yankee Lover and fleeing the Great White North for the slightly soggier and grey North of Seattle.  Toesocks is a friend from back in my Uni days (Jillian just said ‘1’ in her head) – we quickly bonded over love of all things fun including late night Poutine (yes I finished eating it when I woke up), Mystery bus tours (Clap Clap Clap) and general Tomfoolery.  She has delighted me with my very first opportunity to be a bridesmaid – and the best part is, we’re doing it twice!

Seeing as though she is hellbent on moving South of the Border (I think she’s a closet Republican) and needs some paperwork, Toesocks and Yankee Lover are going to elope next weekend in Vegas and then do the whole big fancy wedding thing next Fall.  Not only is the idea of a wedding in Vegas super friggen awesome to begin with – but since its Halloween weekend, its going to be a COSTUME WEDDING!  Hell yes.

I believe the details of the Wedding Party’s theme is under wraps – but I can give you a hint at what we’re going with in this photo – my first shot at pulling off the specifically desired look:

This is a Classy affair, Y'all

I’m sure wedding number two for this couple will be a more dignified affair, but the real fun will definitely go down in Vegas.  Happy to note that my first experience as a Bridesmaid will be anything but ordinary 🙂

The second lucky lady is my friend from when I was ‘thisbig’ (however tall you are when you’re 14, that is) Cherie – who was actually the first to officially ask me to take the position.  I was extremely excited when she asked, but apparently this had already been decided at a mutual friends wedding the year prior (see: dressing up & excess liquor).

Cherie and her mate Silver Fox are getting hitched in the spring, just outside Toronto, and I’m certain it will be a hell of a party.  And yes, I’m allowed to call it a party – I checked.  While I doubt this wedding would be accurately labelled as ‘traditional’ (since the couple is anything but), so far the bridesmaid’s duties and dresses seem to be of that realm.

This past weekend, Cherie, one of her other Bridesmaids and myself embarked on the task of finding our dresses.  Thankfully, Cherie has mercifully picked a beautiful colour for us – Moss Green – and besides picking a brand, has given us complete freedom to choose the dress length, style and fabric.  I was shocked at how much fun we had trying on a bunch of oddly coloured dresses – I really thought it was going to be more stressful, which makes absolutely no sense since I love shopping.  I think I was worried all the sample dresses would be a size Zero (also, nonsensical) and I would deem myself unfit for the occasion.

Cherie was extremely organized for the fitting, brining her notebook and camera in tote.  As we tried on each dress she noted the style number, price, as well as our opinions.  She also took photos.  Typically, Nancy was in a silly mood and was not considering the camera all that much – which was highlighted in an email to the Wedding Party from the Bride that stated:

Thanks again for spending Saturday morning trying on dresses, ladies – you look great! Except the photos where Nancy looks retarded ;)”

I wonder if either Bride considered my penchant for stupid faces and awkward smiles when making the decision to cast me in the most important photos of their lives.

*evil laughter*

We topped off the morning with a fabulous brunch that included gigantic Mimosas.  This is going to be a fun year 🙂

Breakfast of Champions

2 Comments

Filed under Events in Review, Funny Ha-Ha, Pictures Tell a Thousand Words

2 responses to “Blushing Bridesmaid

  1. Love the skirt AND

    Madam Saddam doesn’t look retarded!!!!

    Those look like amazing mimosas, I want to go some time!

    • Haha.. well I’m glad you think Madam Saddam doesn’t look retarded, but most other people would disagree!

      The Mimosa’s were from a place called the Good Fork near Jane and Bloor – breakfast was incredible, I’d be happy to trek back there with you!

Leave a Reply

