Change Management

As our unusual family settles into its new home, a variety of growing pains are popping up for us to manage.  Nothing earth shattering, thankfully, just stuff that represents the learning curve present during a complete change in environment. 

Sound Effects – My room is situated directly below Korean’s room – which is definitely a win considering Tigger’s more prominent late night antics.  However, whenever he’s up and about in his room it honestly sounds like he is throwing boulders at the floor and chasing after them.  Kinda like the Gods are Bowling, but much less delicate.  Its very easy to confirm that he is actually just walking around like a normal human being, making no effort to stomp around like an elephant – but that’s what I’m hearing.  Luckily, it would take riot to wake me up so it’s really not an issue, just more of an observance and a WTF is going on up there? Oh, nothing.  I think this just boils down to me living in an apartment surrounded by concrete for so many years – you’re vaguely aware of the fact that you have people living above you, but you rarely if ever hear them

Neighbours – Love ‘em or hate ‘em, we’re here to stay so we might as well get used to them.  As mentioned previously, one group of our neighbours consists of a colourful and friendly crowd of dog lovers that congregate daily in front of our house to shoot the proverbial shit and allow their dogs to essentially do the same.  No problem there, I love the canine community we moved into.  However, these same neighbours had issue with a little merriment at our home on Saturday evening.  At 11:30.  No biggie, we moved everyone inside and to the back patio (where, coincidentally, we have really cool neighbours) and moved on.  What I wasn’t expecting was the Spanish Inquisition when Eleanor and I returned with our coffees the next morning.  How much apologizing is required when you’re a little loud at 11:30pm on a Weekend?  Next time they are all up on the street at 7am on a Sunday making a racket I’m going to give them a piece of my mind and tell them to bring it from a 10 to a 2.  Although, I’d probably have to set my alarm to wake up and see if they’re out there in the first place – not ideal.

Garbage Days – While I was originally lamenting the idea of having to sort our own garbage and drag it to the curb once a week, the reality is much less irritating then expected.  The biggest bonus is that our garbage, recycling and green bin are stored like two feet from the curb, so the dragging aspect is really irrelevant.  I do, however, think that the city should give you a few freebie days right after a move when you’re allowed to put out as much garbage and recycling as you have.  Oh well, 400 Walmer Road is serving as our dump these days.  Take that Vertica Resident Services.  One glorious thing that came from this week’s pick up is the discovery that one of our Garbage men is wildly attractive.  I think I’m going to conveniently be on my porch in a revealing outfit next Tuesday at 8:40am with a come hither look on my face.   With my luck though I’d get a whistle from his much older, much creepier partner.  A girl can dream though, can’t she?

Overall, the Good things about our New Home are amazing, and the Bad are just slightly irritating or unusual.  I think we picked a winner!

3 Comments

Filed under Funny Ha-Ha, Story Time

3 responses to “Change Management

  1. Let’s put it this way, if I knew there were new neighbours, and they were having a “housewarming party.”

    And we are talking…. hey you bought the place you have a mortgage like they do an intent to live there for a while… I think I woul dhave held out until 2am.. or invited myself over…

  2. Yes, but you and I are of the rational thinking crowd.

    The complainer was actually out on the street last night at 11:30 letting her dogs bark like madmen. Needless to say, I opened my blinds and gave her the stink eye.

    This means war.

  3. I love hating my neighbours.

Leave a Reply

